Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.
New
Connecting Colorado’s unrepresented litigants to legal information, practical resources, and contact information for assistance with legal issues.
New
The first place to go when researching a legislator is Colorado Legislators Past and Present, a database developed by the Colorado Legislative Council. Here you can find a variety of facts about every legislator who's ever served in Colorado. Information in each record includes (if known/applicable):
 political party
 chambers served in (House, Senate)
 years served
 occupation
 district number (for legislators after 1964)
 county and city of residence
 other government positions held
 gender
 birth date and place
 death date and place
 legislative committees served on
 bill sponsorship
Many records contain supplementary information as well. If a legislator was memorialized at the time of their death, the text of the memorial is provided, as scanned from the House and Senate Journals. Other legislators gave oral histories, and these are included in audio form and/or transcript. If a photo of the legislator can be located, it is also included in the record. For those looking for statistical information rather than information on one specific legislator, the data can be sorted by district, party, chamber, or county. The database also includes a search feature, which you can use if, for example, you wanted to find every legislator with occupation "attorney."
New
Compilation of State Land Laws, Published 1917
New
One of Colorado's oldest state agencies is the State Board of Land Commissioners, known informally as the State Land Board. The Land Board was established in 1876 at the time of Colorado's statehood. Its purpose is to manage lands granted to Colorado by the Federal Government in public trusts that financially benefit public schools and institutions. The Land Board is the second-largest landowner in Colorado, after the Federal Government itself. The money to fund schools and other public institutions is raised through leasing the land for agriculture, resource extraction, renewable energy, and recreational uses.

The Colorado State Publications Library has digitized the Land Board's annual/biennial reports back to 1903. In these reports researchers can find detailed lists of land transactions, statistics on funding to schools and institutions, and data on mineral leases, timber sales, and other revenue-generating activity.
New
The Denver Post, from 1894 to Present.
New
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security....The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Resources are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject-matter specialists.
New
This collection combines Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA), the leading index for library science, with full-text for many titles. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval, and more. It covers titles from many different countries and in more than 20 languages.
New
Gives users full-text access to titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied literature of library and information science. Includes trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals. Designed to support the core titles included in the Library and Information Science Abstracts database
New
American Civil Liberties Union Papers consists of two major collections comprising myriad subseries. The Roger Baldwin Years, 1912-1950, contains subseries with clippings and files on academic freedom; censorship; legislation; federal departments and federal legislation; state activities; conscientious objectors; injunctions; and labor and labor organization correspondence. Years of Expansion, 1950-1990, encompasses foundation project files on the Amnesty Project, 1964-1980; the Lawyers Constitutional Defense Committee, 1964-1976; and subject files on freedom of belief, expression, and association; due process of law; equality before the law; international civil liberties; and legal case files, 1933-1990.
New
American Indians and the American West consists of one module on American Indians and the American West from 1809-1971. This module contains several collections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. Notable collections in this module from the 19th Century focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. The featured collections on the 20th Century are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
New
American Politics and Society consists of a wide range of 19th and 20th century material. Going in chronological order, the first module in this category are the papers of one of the most prolific inventors in American History, Thomas A. Edison Papers. The other modules in this category consist of immigration records to the United States during the massive immigration wave from 1880-1930; legal collections from the Harvard Law School Library featuring the papers of three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, and one of the most infamous criminal cases of the 20th century; records from the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House and other federal agencies on the New Deal and World War II; FBI Files on radical politics; records of the Truman and Eisenhower Presidencies; records of Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and other anti-Vietnam War organizations; and records on American Politics from the beginning of the Kennedy administration through the Nixon Administration.
New
ProQuest History Vault's coverage of the Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category consists of the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century. The NAACP Papers collection consists of 6 modules. The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom. Major collections in these modules include Civil Rights records from the Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and George H. W. Bush presidencies; the Martin Luther King FBI File and FBI Files on locations of major civil rights demonstrations like Montgomery and Selma, Alabama or St. Augustine, Florida; and the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), National Association of Colored Women's Clubs (NACWC), Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).
New
Collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category span from 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through to the end of the Vietnam War. While these modules provide an excellent view of U.S. international relations during these important years, these records also offer detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed. As such, the collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category are an excellent source for studies of individual countries or regions of the world. In addition, U.S. diplomats and military officials often reported back on international reaction to events in the United States, thereby providing an international perspective on important developments in the United States. This category also now includes British Foreign Office Records on World War I.
New
This category consists of five modules: Slavery and the Law; two modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War. Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867. Southern Plantation Records document the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. Plantation records are both business records and personal papers because the plantation was both the business and the home for plantation owners. The Confederate Military Manuscripts module brings together unique collections that are being digitized for the first time. Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War features correspondence of the U.S. Army's Office of Civil Affairs.
New
The Women's Studies modules in History Vault consist of records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations; personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement; and records on women at work during World War II. There are two modules in this category. The first module consists of the records of the National Woman's Party, League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. The second module is consist of manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College. These collections focus on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights. The module on Women at Work during World War II consists of records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department and correspondence of the director of the Women's Army Corps.
New
This category currently consists of one module, entitled Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century. A particular strength of this category is its coverage of strikes and radical labor unions in the first half of the 20th Century. Researchers interested in labor rights and workers should also search the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle and Women's Studies categories for related materials on American workers in the 20th Century.
New
Tax Notes is the first source of essential daily news, analysis, and commentary for tax professionals whose success depends on being trusted for their expertise.

Tax Notes is a collection of publications by Tax Analysts, a non-profit tax publisher. Tax Notes’ news publications provide comprehensive but impartial coverage of tax news, while Tax Notes’ commentary publications contribute spirited and personable voices to the conversation and debate around the understanding and application of tax policy.
New
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS