Skip to main content

Remote Access to Library Resources

This guide provides instructions for accessing library resources from off campus.

eBooks

A banner image reading "eBooks"

The library provides many treatises, encyclopedias, and other resources in eBook format. Visit our Using eBooks guide for a breakdown of eBook providers.

You can also find eBooks in our catalog by limiting searches to electronic resources. Here's how:

  1. Log into the University VPN (see instructions here)
  2. Visit our catalog's advanced search feature at this page.
  3. Under "Location," select "Law Electronic Resources."

An screenshot of our catalog's advanced search feature. The box reading "location" is highlighted.


If you are having trouble locating a resource or need recommendations, please contact the library's reference department.

Digitized Resources from HathiTrust

HathiTrust is providing temporary access to digitized versions of some resources that would otherwise only be available in print. This database is especially useful for older materials, such as out-of-print editions of legal encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Visit https://www.hathitrust.org/ and select "LOG IN" in the top right corner. You will be asked to select your "partner institution" (University of Colorado Boulder) and log in with your university ID. Once logged in, you can "check out" materials. Just be sure to "return" them when you are done—access is limited to one person in the university at a time.

More information on HathiTrust's Emergency Temporary Access Service is available here.

Prospector eBooks

Some partner libraries provide remote access to eBooks and videos through Prospector. CU Boulder students, staff, and faculty can use Prospector to borrow eBooks published by Springer and Elsevier that would otherwise be unavailable in our collections.

You can find more information on accessing e-resources via Prospector here.

For help searching Prospector, reach out to us at lawref@colorado.edu.

Databases

A banner image reading "Databases"

We provide a wide range of remotely accessible databases. After logging into the university VPN (see instructions here), visit our A-Z database list.

This instructional video outlines how to use our A-Z database list:

Need help accessing a database? Contact a reference librarian!

Follow William A. Wise Law Library on:   Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     RSS